Tsedang – the Cradle of Tibet Civilization. Tsedang tourist attractions consist of both cultural and natural sights offering tourists insights into “the cradle of Tibetan Civilization”, the spectacular landscapes on the birthplace of Tibetan people.

Yarlung valley is the valley where Tsedang city is located and the Yarlung valley is also known as the cradle of Tibetan civilization. Tsedang is the third-largest town in Central Tibet, is 196km from Lhasa on the south bank of the Yarlung Tsangpo River. The town is in the heartland of historical Tibet, at the head of the Yarlung Valley and adjacent to the ancient capital of Nedong. Like Lhasa, the old Tibetan town is now hemmed in by a large urban Chinese administrative district. Tsedang is a good base for making day trips to Samye monastery, Yarlung and Chongye as well as sites further east along the Tsangpa.

 Tsedang is also the central administrative city of the southern Tibet, and it is built on the eastern bank of the Yarlung Tsangpo River. It nestles at the base of the Gongpo Ri, one of the four sacred mountains in Central Tibet, where Avalokiteshvara descended into the country in the form of a red monkey and mated with a mountain demoness (herself an emanation of Tara) to produce the first six members of the Tibetan tribes. “Tsedang” literally means “playground” the place where the children of the money and the demoness came down to play. Avalokiteshvara gave these Tibetans grains and instructed them on how to cultivate them in the fertile valley. Symbolically, this legend tells of how under the compassionate influence of Avalokiteshvara the Tibetans became agriculturists and thus began the process of civilization. Avalokiteshvara to this day guides the Tibetan people through his continuing appearance in this world as the Dalai Lamas.

Tsedang is one of the best places to explore many Tibetan Attraction for the Tibet Tours, and Samye Monastery trekking is worth for doing during traveling to Tibet.

Tsetang & Yarlung valley

The tombs of the kings

The Yarlung valley contains many of Tibetan histories and legends, tombs of the greatest kings of Yarlung Dynasty is also...

More Details

Dratang Monastery

Dratang Monastery Chinese Name: 扎塘寺  English Name: Dratang Monastery Tibetan Name: གྲྲ་ཐང་དགོན་པ།  Location: Located 2 km off the main road in the Dranang...

More Details

Holy Lhamo La-Tso Lake

Lhamo La-Tso Chinese name: 拉姆拉错, English name: Lhamo La-Tso Tibetan Name : ལྷ་མོའི་བླ་མཚོ། Location: located 65km northeast from Gyaca County in Shannan Prefecture...

More Details

Mindroling Monastery

Mindroling Monastery is one of the six major monasteries of the Nyingma School of Buddhism in Tibet. Rigzin Terdak Lingpa founded...

More Details

Samye monastery

Samye monastery was the first Tibetan Buddhism monastery that constructed probably between 775 and 779, during the reign of King...

More Details

Dorje Drak Monastery

Dorje Drak was founded by the 1st Rigdzin Godemchen Ngodrub Gyaltsen (1337-1409) and Dorje Drak is regarded as one of the...

More Details

Traduk Monastery

  Traduk temple or monastery was initially established in 641 A.D by the greatest 33rdking Songtsen Gampo in the seventh...

More Details
Yumbhulhakang Palace

Yumbu Lhakang and Yarlung valley

The establishment of the holy Yumbu Lhakhang was initiated in the 2nd century at the time of the first Tibetan King...

More Details