8 Auspicious symbols

The Ashtamangala are a sacred suite of Eight Auspicious Signs endemic to a number of Indian religions such as HinduismJainism, and Buddhism. The symbols or “symbolic attributes” are yidam and teaching tools. Not only do these attributes, these energetic signatures, point to qualities of enlightened mindstream, but they are the investiture that ornaments these enlightened “qualities” Many cultural enumerations and variations of the Ashtamangala are extant。

A)The Eternal Knot

The Eternal Knot, with its lines flowing and entwined in a closed pattern, represents dependent origination and the interrelation of all phenomena. It also signifies cause and effect and the union of compassion and wisdom.

B) Dharma Wheel

The Dharma Wheel, also called the dharma-chakra or dhamma chakka, is one of the most well-known symbols of Buddhism. The Wheel has eight spokes, representing the Eightfold Path. According to tradition, the Dharma Wheel was first turned when the Buddha delivered his first sermon after his enlightenment.

C) The Lotus Blossom

The lotus is rooted in deep mud and its stem grows through murky water. But the blossom rises above the muck and opens in the sun, beautiful and fragrant. In Buddhism, the lotus represents the true nature of beings, who rise throughsamsara into the beauty and clarity of enlightenment.

D) Two Golden Fish

The two fish were originally symbolic of the rivers Ganges and Yamuna, but came to represent good fortune in general, for Hindus, Jain and Buddhists. Within Buddhism it also symbolises that living beings who practice the dharma need have no fear to drown in the ocean of suffering, and can freely migrate (chose their rebirth) like fish in the water.

E) The Conch Shell

In Asia, the conch has long been used as a battle horn. In the Hindu epic The Mahabharata, the sound of the hero Arjuna’s conch terrorized his enemies. In ancient times a white conch also represented the Brahmin caste to Hindus. In Buddhism, a white conch that coils to the right represents the sound of the Dharma reaching far and wide, awakening beings from ignorance.

F) The Parasol

The parasol is a symbol of royal dignity and protection from the heat of the sun. By extension, it represents protection from suffering. The ornate parasol usually is depicted with a dome, representing wisdom, and a “skirt” around the dome, representing compassion. Sometimes the dome is octagonal, representing the Eightfold Path. Sometimes it is square, representing the four directional quarters.

G) The Vase

The treasure vase is filled with precious and sacred things, yet no matter how much is taken out, it is always full. It represents the teachings of the Buddha, which remained a bountiful treasure no matter how many teachings he gave to others. It also symbolizes long life and prosperity.

H) The Banner of Victory

The victory banner signifies the Buddha’s victory over the demon Mara and over what Mara represents — passion, fear of death, pride and lust. More generally, it represents the victory of wisdom over ignorance.  There is a legend that the Buddha raised the victory banner over Mount Meru to mark his victory over all phenomenal things.

The meaning for all these Tibetan symbols are incredibly beautiful and meaningful. Tibet has a very different way of perceiving the meaning of life.



Recent Posts